Reunion in Death book 14 of In Death series

reunionThis will be my last review of this series for a little while. I finally got some books that i have been dying to read all month. Now that they are in my possession, I am excited to start reading them. Now on to my review of Reunion in Death but first here a brief background on the novel: A birthday bash sets the scene for a frightening reunion with a killer from Eve Dallas’s past. At exactly 7:30 p.m., Walter Pettibone arrived home to over a hundred friends and family shouting, surprise! It was his birthday. Although he had known about the planned event for weeks, the real surprise was yet to come. At 8:45 p.m., a woman with emerald eyes and red hair handed him a glass of champagne. One sip of birthday bubbly, and he was dead.The woman’s name is Julie Dockport. No one at the party knew who she was. But Detective Eve Dallas remembers her all too well. Eve was personally responsible for her incarceration nearly ten years ago. And now, let out on good behavior, she still has nothing but bad intentions. It appears she wants to meet Dallas again — in a reunion neither will forget.

This was an interesting novel simply because the killer was female. I have to say that in this series there is not many female killers and I was excited to read about this one. The killer was exactly what I expected. You get an in-depth history on the killer which makes it more personal. You really step inside the mind and see how this killer thinks. I am simply fascinated by that. I love the psyche of the killer. I really enjoyed seeing the conflicting emotions in Eve when she finds she on this hit list as well as Roarke. This because very personal to her. The killer was from Dallas and so the reader gets to see a bit more of Eve’s past, which I have been waiting for. This novel was great at the suspense, you never really knew where the killer was going to attack next and you really felt that from the characters.

I simply love Peabody’s parents. They are such great additions, even for a short while. The connection with Peabody’s parents show a bit more into the futuristic setting of having people termed as sensitives, meaning they are sensitive to feelings such as pain and fear. Great addition!

Each novel in this series make me fall even more in love with Roarke. He is such a great guy that is always looking out for Eve. He is the perfect counter part to her. They balance each other out. This novel marks their one year anniversary! Happy anniversary to them! I can honestly say the sex did not dwindle between them. If anything the sex scenes between them have gotten better and more steamy. They certainly know more about each other at this stage in their relationship. I look forward to see more of their relationship progress, as well as Peabody’s and McNab’s.

Overall, I give this novel 5 out of 5 stars. I simply enjoyed reading this novel from start to finish. I really did not want to put it down. I always wanted to know more about these characters that I have grown attached too. The next novel I will be reviewing is Bare it All by Lori Foster. Happy readings! I hope you enjoy reading my posts and are able to find books that you might enjoy from these.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a comment