Kissing Under the Mistletoe: A Sullivan Christmas (the Sullivans 10)

17558773

I love spring break. I think the one thing that I love most about spring break is that we only have 6 weeks after until school is over. I know I will miss some students but I cannot wait to meet the new ones coming in. Anyways the second thing i love about spring break is that I can read what I want when I want. No schedule. Ahh. This spring break instead of lying around in the sun, I am currently bundled up nice and warm while the snow falls outside. It is absolutely beautiful. Anyways let’s get to why we are really here… Book reviews. Kissing Under the Mistletoe is about Jack and Mary’s story. The parents of Chase, Marcus, Lori, and the rest. Here is a brief background on the novel provided by goodreads: For Mary Sullivan Christmas is, and always has been, about family. And this year is no different. As she awaits the arrival of her eight children and their partners at the cottage in Lake Tahoe, she hangs the ornaments that they made for her over the years. Each decoration brings with it a tide of memories, all of which she holds dear to her heart. But when she comes across the oldest ornament, the one her beloved husband, Jack, gave her on their very first Christmas together, Mary is immediately swept back to the first days of their whirlwind romance, to the love that would be the foundation on which they built the family she is so proud to call her own.

This was an interesting novel, however I do not think this should have been made. Wait… before you jump down my throat protesting let me tell you why. In the present stories (the children’s stories) the father Jack has already passed away. You know the ending to this fairy tale life. It doesn’t end with a happily ever after where they grow old together and can watch their grandchildren grow. That never happens because we know Jack doesn’t live long enough to watch all his children graduate from high school. It is completely unfair.

However I did like seeing how they met. It is never really mentioned in the other stories. I have a love/hate relationship with this novel. I do like to see how Mary and Jack got together. Two unlikely people. A model and an engineer. I liked how Jack was very passionate and confident one in the relationship. Mary is the one that is scared about falling in love. I also enjoyed seeing Mary’s family. You never really got a sense of who that was in the other novels. I never knew that she spoke Italian, from Italy to be exact. I also enjoyed seeing what Jack is really like personality wise. He’s an awkward, goofy, nerdy gentleman.

As for the sex scenes, I thought they were great. I really enjoy the different scenes. They were always filled with passion and love whether Mary knew it was love or not. The scenes were steamy and hot as only Bella Andre could write them. Simply fantastic.

Overall I give this novel 3 out 5 just because you know the ending. That’s what hurts the most. Seeing how they could be happy and have a great life only to know that they never get that. Stay tuned for my next review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Modern Romance

Leave a Reply

