Safe With Me (With Me series Book 5) Review

th-1

I started a series and will not stop until I have read and reread every single book in the Seattle With Me series. I am really starting to enjoy the first person perspectives. Safe with Me is the fifth book in the series that I have been reviewing. This book stars Caleb, the ex-Navy Seal and Brynna, the mom with twin daughters. Before I get started on my review, here is some background on the novel provided by Goodreads: Keeping others safe is what Caleb Montgomery does. He’s never had a problem taking on an assignment, whether it was during his dangerous SEAL days or his most recent job of training war mercenaries. But being assigned to keep Brynna Vincent and her adorable daughters, Maddie and Josie, safe from an unknown threat has thrown Caleb off his axis. Hot for the tall brunette since she came back to town more than a year ago, being close to her day in and day out is cracking Caleb’s resolve to keep his hands off her gorgeous body and his head in the mission.

Brynna is sick and tired of being afraid. All she wants is a normal, quiet life for her and her precious girls. Just as she’s settling into her new home in Seattle and feeling safe again, Caleb shows up on her doorstep insisting the danger is as high as ever. But whether she needs to be sheltered from the threat in her past, or from the intense emotions she feels for the sexy, protective man sleeping in her home, remains to be seen. What will happen if Brynna and her girls fall in love with a man so broken he may not be able to protect them from the danger that threatens, much less himself?”

I thought this book was interesting because I was waiting to read this one. Kristen Proby hints at this romance throughout the entire series. I was waiting for Bryn and Caleb to get together. She hints at it and hints at it. I knew they were getting together. These stories are really interwoven within each other. I did like the fact that you get to know more about Bryn and how she came to be in Seattle. I loved finding out that she had an ex-husband that was a cop and that she raised her twins all on her own. It really demonstrates how strong she is as a character and as a woman. It’s the hardest thing in the world to raise twins on your own and then have to move across the country. It is a lot to ask of her.  I also really enjoyed getting into Caleb’s mind. A solider who has seen wartime and really struggles with readjusting to civilian life. Its hard and I think Kristen Proby does a pretty good job with getting into the mind of the returning solider. Being a sister and cousin to a few military people, I think that it was very close to how they feel when they come back to the U.S. after the fighting a war overseas. Its harder for those who are in the covert and special forces division. I think it was a little odd that Brynna witnessed something and they don’t really talk about it again or at all for that matter. I thought that was simple ridiculous. More times than not you talk about something that affects you and makes you change states especially those who are assigned to help protect you. I just wanted more detail about it. I needed the who, what, where, when, and why. She still did a good job with the characters emotions.

As for the sex scenes, yummy. It’s always a reoccurring fantasy to have your way with a Navy seal. No? Then it must be just me. This was straight out of my fantasy. Caleb is simply perfect and the sex scenes between Caleb and Brynna are simply unforgettable. They are filled with passion and love. They simply were meant to be.

Overall, I give this novel 4 out 5 stars. I enjoyed it but there were something missing. I cannot wait for the next book. I haven’t decided if I am going to buy the novel or wait until next month when I can get one book for free. I will mostly likely buy the book before the next week starts. I will soon have to start reading novels that are mostly likely taught in schools as I now have my credentials. Next thing on my list is reading those but I will balance that with romance novels of course.

Leave a comment

Filed under Modern Romance

Leave a Reply

