Baby, It’s Cold Outside

baby, it's cold outside

This novel is a collection of short stories by various authors. I will be reviewing each novella. Here is the background that Goodreads has provided for this novel, Outside it may be frosty, so turn the heat way up with these stories of desire!

Can a determined woman executive and a playboy billionaire survive being stranded together in a snowstorm? Jennifer Probst depicts an encounter almost too hot to handle…

Drew and Kate play an encore to Tangled in this sexy take on a “Christmas Carol” by Emma Chase. When a Christmas Eve argument condemns Drew to a troubled night, three dream women teach him that no gift could be more tantalizing than Kate…

With Kristen Proby, ski slopes are quite delightful. Grace Douglas is sure she’ll never learn to ski, but instructor Jacob Baxter could teach her lessons of a different kind…

Can a southern California transplant survive Montana’s deep snows? Melody Anne, author of the bestselling Andersons series, melts the icy drifts completely away with the heat between sexy Hawk Winchester and brand-new teacher Natalie Duncan…

What could be hotter than a firefighter? Kate Meader shows how, as Beck Rivera and heiress-turned-tattoo-artist Lucy Cochrane discover, nothing ignites holiday flames like rekindling a lost love…

The first novella that I read and the real reason as to why I read this books is by Jennifer Probst. You might remember her from the Italian marriage books with the magic. I really enjoy Ms. Probst writing style. She always writes good books and this novella is no different. This novella has all that I was looking for her. Drew and Kate are such a cute couple. Stuck together in a frozen paradise, I cant help but feel jealous of what they go through. Probsts writes so well that you feel for the characters. They become a part of your world. The sex scenes were hot, hot, hot. Especially good as it’s chilly outside. This is definitely a must read if not a must read ten thousand times over.

The second novella written by Emma Chase was really interesting. As it says on the back cover this is a modern-day Christmas carol. So you already know how this story goes. It does not deaden the fact that it was well written. I was certainly surprised by her writing style. This is written in the first person and a lot different from what I am used too. Usually I am reading third person. That way I can get the sense of both the male and female perspectives. Although, I must admit that I enjoyed that fact that I was in the male mind for the entirety of the novella. It was very interesting. It is all about knowing what you have and not taking it for granted. That’s what the Christmas spirit is all about. As for the sex, oh my god. The fact that it is written in first person actually makes it hotter, if that possible. I cannot wait to read more from this author.

The third novella is by Kristen Proby, I really enjoyed this one as well. I thought this one was so cute. Grace is the complete opposite of her name. Jacob is the millionaire ski instructor that absolutely makes me want to drive up the mountains to find my own hot instructor. I thought this was a very cute story. Nothing too serious, just a simple love story that will make your heart melt. I actually enjoyed this woman’s writing so much that I had to see what else she wrote. I was not disappointed with her other series as I will be writing a review on her other book right after I get done with this one. The sex was phenomenal in this book as well as her other ones. Nothing I didn’t like.

Melody Anne’s novella was interesting. I didn’t think the back cover did the novella any justice. I thought this was also a cute story with meddling family members. It certainly reminded of my own. They never seem to be able to stay out of one’s business. Not that I mind actually. It makes it more entertaining. I did enjoy the storyline in this one. Moving to a new town is never easy but it is certainly easier when you have a hot guy taking care of everything that you may need. Really super cute, plus he’s a fireman. He really sets those sheets on fire. The sex scenes were written well… I mean really well. I look forward to reading more of her novels as well.

The last novella written by Kate Meader leave much to be desired. I did not enjoy this one as much as i did the others. I felt this one was missing something. That I was coming in the middle of a series and have no idea what is going on. I felt that this novella was missing some important information. I don’t like that feeling. I love the snarkiness of the characters but something was missing. The sex scenes were okay, I’ve read better but it wasn’t horrible. It just wasn’t for me.

Overall, I give this anthology a 3.5 out 5. Some of these authors I would love to read more from them and actually have. If you want something to whet your appetite then I suggest you run (not walk) to the nearest book store and pick up a copy of this book. It was a good read around the holidays and really makes you want to spend some time in the snow. Happy Readings, Happy holidays, and a Happy New year!.

Leave a comment

Filed under Modern Romance

Leave a Reply

