Magic Burns (Kate Daniels #2)

1811543

I’ve started a series and I cannot stop reading. I want more, but I have finally caught up with all of the novels that are published. Shame. I hate waiting for the next book in a series to come out. Magic Burns is the second novel in the Kate Daniels series. Again, this novel follows Kate as it is written in her perspective. Here is the summary of this novel provided by Goodreads: As a mercenary who cleans up after magic gone wrong, Kate Daniels has seen her share of occupational hazards. Normally, waves of paranormal energy ebb and flow across Atlanta like a tide. But once every seven years, a flare comes, a time when magic runs rampant. Now Kate’s going to have to deal with problems on a much bigger scale: a divine one.
When Kate sets out to retrieve a set of stolen maps for the Pack, Atlanta’s paramilitary clan of shapeshifters, she quickly realizes much more at stake. During a flare, gods and goddesses can manifest – and battle for power. The stolen maps are only the opening gambit in an epic tug-of-war between two gods hoping for rebirth. And if Kate can’t stop the cataclysmic showdown, the city may not survive…

Each novel sheds a little more light on the past of Kate Daniels and how it will affect her future. I love learning more about this magical world that Ilona Andrews has created. It is very interesting and fully of mythological creatures as well as stories. I thought this was an interesting story. Kate is really a detective but without the school training, but she is smart and is able to figure out who is the murder. Cause really someone usually ends up dead around her. I love her interactions with all of the other characters especially her “protector” Curran, the Beastlord. Curran is a fantastic male lead. He is arrogant, rude, funny, exciting, beautiful, and all together a perfect balance for Kate. I really hope they get together, they certainly circle each other. I love that they have introduced Julie into the story. A young girl with no family, but needs a family to call her own. Kate believes she is destined to die and can’t have anybody in her life. Their interactions are pretty entertaining.

There is no sex scenes in this novel, which I have to admit is a shame. I need my romance fix. Oh well, the build up is currently driving me crazy, I want more!

Overall, I give this novel 5 out 5 kittens. Cause who doesn’t want kittens. If you like the T.V. show Supernatural, this is the female perspective of that idea. I simply love this series.

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal Romance

Leave a Reply

