“Hot in Here” by Lori Foster

 

hot-in-here_450*sigh* It feels good to be back. I did not realize that what I was missing, but now that school is almost done with be prepared for more reviews. I am going to read as many books as I can in a short amount of time. Last summer it was 30 novels, I am hoping to break that record this summer.  This novel has three short stories in it. Here is a brief summary provided by my favorite book website Goodreads: UNCOVERED
Firefighter Harris Black is startled to stumble across nude photos of a woman…and handwritten notes about him. Who is this mystery woman? Harris hires a P.I. to trace her, never suspecting he’s already found her….
TAILSPIN
Lumberyard owner Buck Boswell prides himself on his way with women—but his prickly neighbor, Sadie Harte, seems immune to his charms. Is she really as aloof as she acts, or can Buck convince her to take a chance on the guy next door?
AN HONORABLE MAN
Lieutenant colonel Hamilton Wulf’s career ambitions cost him the one woman he ever wanted—Liv Avery. Now he’s determined to win back her love…even if it means risking his life.

I thought Uncovered was an interesting story. I really enjoyed it. The main characters were great. Harris is a cocky firefighters searching for a mysterious woman, who happens to be his next door neighbor. While Claire is trying to get him to notice her as more than a friend. It’s really a rock and a hard place. I understand her need to hide herself from Harris, not really knowing his feelings yet. I love how their story progresses and a few time I cringed at the awkward moments.  It was very realistic.

Tailspin was an interesting story as well because it was more about the fact that the couple had dogs that really brought them together. Without the dogs, I have a feeling that they would not become the great couple they become.It was  cute little story, no big drama, just two individuals coming together. I could relate to the Sade. She was so quite, not wanting to draw attention to herself. She was an adorable character for Buck.

An honorable man really drove me crazy. It about these two military brats who have loved each other forever, but she is afraid to commit because she is tired of moving around all the time. She wants roots, a place to call her own. I can understand her feelings on not getting involved. I could not figure out why the male character did not tell the Love of His life his decision to become a teacher on base. I, mean really, that would have been very important for the female to know. How can she make a strong decision about her future with having all the facts? I could not get past that important fact, I personally would be pissed if I made my decision without having all of the  facts. But that was the only issue I had with the story. Overall, I thought it was great, very cute.

Overall, This was a great book. I love reading short mini stories, however, I wish there was more. I want more from the characters. I also need to read more about the other characters mentioned in the stories. I give this novel a 4 out of 5. I really enjoy everything Lori Foster writes and I cannot wait to read her next series coming out soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Modern Romance

Leave a Reply

