Come A Little Bit Closer (The Sullivans #7)

15925072I have been waiting for this novel for what seemed like forever. This novel was out in an ebook version, however I really love holding the actual book in my hands, so I waited for the real thing. I really enjoy this series. So here is a brief background on this novel provided by Goodreads:Fame, fortune, and falling in love…
Movie star Smith Sullivan can’t afford any distractions. He’s staking his entire reputation on his new film…but he can’t stop thinking about Valentina Landon and the fire he sees smoldering just beneath the surface of her cool exterior.
Valentina isn’t averse to sensual pleasure, or even to the idea of finding true love, but as a Hollywood business manager she’s watched too many smart women fall for actors…only to be torn apart when the fairy tale comes to its inevitable end.
But when intense weeks together on set turn their heated attraction into red-hot flames of passion, Smith knows he has to find a way to convince Valentina to let him get a little bit closer. Close enough to completely steal her heart…the way she’s stolen his from the beginning.

I have no idea how making a movie works, but after reading this novel I am really tempted to get a temp job in a movie studio, just so i could see how it works. Although I think I’m just going to stay with reading about it. I thought this novel was very interesting especially for Valentina’s reasons for not wanting to get together. It seems to always be the female that are not interested in making the commitment in this series. The men are the ones that have to fight for what they want. I feel that that is a nice change for once. I also enjoyed seeing the previous characters from earlier books.  This was a great novel to see all the other Sullivan siblings. They are so adorable. However, I was hoping for a more drawn out emotional entanglement. You know that moment where you don’t think the characters will work through it, but secretly you know there is going to be a happily ever after? Those are the moments that I love the most in Romance novels. That fear of things not working out. I felt that in this book, it wasn’t fully explored. It was there for a moment and then it was over. I wanted more of that.

As for the sex scenes… Bow-chicka-wow-wow. They were great! Full of love, romance, steam, passion, and descriptive language.  I thought the sex scenes were great and really added to the story. They were not out-of-place. It was a bit slow to get there for my taste but they were written really well. Very descriptive which is always a good thing.

Overall, I give this novel 4.5 out of 5. I really enjoyed this novel and cannot wait for the next in the series. I know I’m behind as the next set is coming out, but I really like the hard copy. I will wait for that. I don’t know when it’s coming out, but I will keep you posted. I am expecting a few books in the mail, however I am in my finals week so I will be offline for the next week and a half or so. No time for reading… or if so it will take me longer to get through a novel. I will be back soon. Happy readings!

Leave a comment

Filed under Modern Romance

Leave a Reply

