The Wedding (Laird’s Fiance #2)

107778

This is the second installment of the Laird’s Fiance. To be honest I did not know this was a series until I found this book at a used bookstore. What are the odds? Don’t answer that. Anyways here is a brief background on this novel provided by Goodreads: It’s a classic plot: a marriage of convenience that lays the groundwork for true love. 1119. Journeying from England to Scotland to wed a highlander, Lady Brenna had resigned herself to the arranged match. But when a band of fierce, painted warriors captured her en route, she fearlessly met their demand to marry their leader — the quick-tempered laird Connor MacAlister. She couldn’t know that her capture was merely the first act of vengeance against her betrothed, Connor’s sworn enemy.
Brenna harbored no illusions that her husband was in love with her; after a hasty forest wedding, MacAlister assured her she could return home once she had borne him a son. But she could not deny that she had once proposed to MacAlister — ten years ago, when she was just a child, and the visitor to her father’s castle charmed her with his dazzling, unexpected smile. Now, as she sets out to win the brave chieftain whom she has come to adore, a legacy of revenge ensnares Brenna in a furious clan war — and only her faith in her gallant hero can save her….

I enjoyed this novel. I liked the storyline and how it was about gaining revenge for the death of Connor’s father. What Highlander in that time period would not want that? I thought the beginning was very interesting, but always make me wonder how big of an age gape is between them? How old are both of them? It is driving me crazy that I cannot figure it out. It says that he “saved” her when she was a child, therefore he should be at least twice her age, but I feel that might be too much of an age gap. Oh well it’s just going to be one of those questions life will never answer. I did like the storyline and the drama of making a marriage work even though they don’t know much about each other. This is what true marriage is. It is the ability to make things work between two people who have nothing in common but making the promise to not give up. That’s what I love about these novels, especially Julie Garwood’s. Although the male leads being Scottish, strong, handsome Lairds might have something to do with it. Naw… I vote for their tenacity. I really enjoyed seeing Jaime and Alec again in this novel. I especially love their little girl. She’s so adorable and troublesome. I thought that was a great addition to the story. I also loved how the emotional conflict between the character was drawn out to the appropriate amount. The characters didn’t all of a sudden have a quick fix, it was more groveling, discussing, and communicating their thoughts and feeling to each other and compromising these feelings to make the other person happy.

As for the sex scenes, I thought they were great. Very earthy and passionate. Their emotions were tied to their lovemaking which made the scenes better and more loving to read. I also thought it was great how Garwood really lets you into the mind of the hero and heroine. You can feel the emotion pouring off the characters.

Overall, I give this novel 5 out of 5. I simply enjoyed and will continue to enjoy it for decades to come. Julie Garwood has written some of the best historical romance novels I have ever read. I really hope one day there will be a third novel to this series with Lady Brenna sister Rachael as the lead. Interesting thought. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do. I have no idea what I am going to read next, it will definitely will be a surprise. Happy reading everyone!

Leave a comment

Filed under Historical Romance

Leave a Reply

