Come A Little Bit Closer (The Sullivans #7)

15925072

I really love series. It allows you to fall more in love with the characters as you see their life progress after the “happy ending.” This is the seventh installment of the The Sullivan series created by Bella Andre. I really enjoyed this novel but it was not my favorite (sorry Smith!). But before I tell me full critique on everything little thing here is a brief background on the novel provided by Goodreads(Love that website): Movie star Smith Sullivan can’t afford any distractions. He’s staking his entire reputation on his new film…but he can’t stop thinking about Valentina Landon and the fire he sees smoldering just beneath the surface of her cool exterior.
Valentina isn’t averse to sensual pleasure, or even to the idea of finding true love, but as a Hollywood business manager she’s watched too many smart women fall for actors…only to be torn apart when the fairy tale comes to its inevitable end.
But when intense weeks together on set turn their heated attraction into red-hot flames of passion, Smith knows he has to find a way to convince Valentina to let him get a little bit closer. Close enough to completely steal her heart…the way she’s stolen his from the beginning.

I was a bit apprehensive to read this novel because it stars a movie star. I wonder how they would include the complication of this public life into this novel and thought that it was an interesting mix. Valentina, of course as all the women in this series have, has reservations about falling in love with a movie star. And really who can blame her. After all we hear about in the gossip trash. (yes, trash). I liked the fact that him being a movie star was part of the problem. It made the conflict between them more real. However, I really wish there was more of the emotional scenes between them. What I mean is the scenes where everything is falling apart and you don’t know if the hero and heroine will get back together but secretly you know they will but still have that deep seeded fear in the pit of your stomach. I needed that scene to drag out just a little bit more. It seemed like an easy resolution. That was the only real problem I had with this novel. I love seeing the family again and learning more about Jake and Sophie. That family is so cute. Plus Babies! I also enjoyed how Bella Andre included a second storyline. This storyline was the movie Smith was making and I was happy I got to read that as well and see how that relationship progressed.

As for the sex scenes, as like any of these romance novels the sex was phenomenal. Explosive, Romantic, Lustful, Passionate, and loving: all qualities that Andre was able to show through her characters feelings and emotions. Emotions make the best romance scenes and these scenes had them all. There is not much more I can say about these scenes without giving it away.

Overall, I give this novel 4.5 out of 5. I love it but it was not my favorite. So far my favorite of this series has been Sophie and Jake’s story. School is almost ending which will definitely open up my time for more reading. I tend to get so lost and depressed if I don’t read something. I have many new books coming that I am looking forward to, I am also looking forward to seeing one of my favorite Young Adult Literature writers this Friday at BooksInc. It’s going to be so much fun. Keep up the readings everyone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Modern Romance

Leave a Reply

