Concealed In Death (In Death# 38)

18079757

This is the newest novel from J.D. Robb. This makes me a bit sad because I will have to wait quite a while for the next novel to be released. I will miss Roarke and Eve. Now before I move on with this pity party, here is a brief background on this novel provided by Goodreads: n a decrepit, long-empty New York building, Lieutenant Eve Dallas’s husband begins the demolition process by swinging a sledgehammer into a wall. When the dust clears, there are two skeletons wrapped in plastic behind it. He summons his wife immediately—and by the time she’s done with the crime scene, there are twelve murders to be solved.
The place once housed a makeshift shelter for troubled teenagers, back in the mid-2040s, and Eve tracks down the people who ran it. Between their recollections and the work of the force’s new forensic anthropologist, Eve begins to put names and faces to the remains. They are all young girls. A tattooed tough girl who dealt in illegal drugs. The runaway daughter of a pair of well-to-do doctors. They all had their stories. And they all lost their chance for a better life.
Then Eve discovers a connection between the victims and someone she knows. And she grows even more determined to reveal the secrets of the place that was called The Sanctuary—and the evil concealed in one human heart.

I am very much on the fence with this novel. I cannot decide how much I enjoyed it. I liked it but then again I did not like it as much as I have for the others. It was an interesting storyline with some great plot twists. I liked the fact that this story dealt with remains of individuals. Eve never got to see a dead body that she could identify the cause of death. She had to rely solely on the bone doctor and Morris. New bone doctor. That was an interesting interaction between Eve and the woman. Super interesting, I wonder where that will go. Another part that enjoyed was learning more about Mavis’s childhood. I thought that was great to read about. All I knew about her so far was that she was an ex-grifter. I liked seeing more about where she came from.

As for the sex scenes, really there is only so many times I can tell you that the sex between Roarke and Eve is off the charts. There is a combination of romance, steam, and love that play very well together. Their sex scenes in this novel were more about the connection between human beings that I found very moving. Super great, as always.

Overall, I give this novel 4.5 out of 5, because it was interesting and I enjoyed it but it wasn’t my favorite. I know you are all excited to find that I do not have any more In Death novels to review. My next novel I am reviewing is a classic (to me anyways) and I just got a few novels in the mail that were released by my favorite authors. I have Bella Andre’s Come a Little Bit Closer to read as well as Lori Foster’s Dash of Peril and Shelly Laurenston’s Bite Me. Keep an eye out for those reviews. I am super excited about reading those. Happy Readings!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a Reply

