Calculated in Death (In Death #36)

61jB8o2+3hL._SS500_

It is really hard finding the time to read a novel, mostly I have been ignoring my homework until the last minute. (Shame on me). I cannot deny that reading has been such a joy especially reading this series. Here is book number 36 of the In Death series. I cannot believe that I am almost catching up to the end of the published books. I have no idea what I will do with myself if I have to wait a year for the next book to come out (or longer!). Well, let’s just up that nightmare on hold. Now on to the more important thing, Here is a brief background on this novel provided by Goodreads: On Manhattan’s Upper East Side a woman lies dead at the bottom of the stairs, stripped of all her valuables. Most cops might call it a mugging gone wrong, but Lieutenant Eve Dallas knows better.

A well-off accountant and a beloved wife and mother, Marta Dickenson doesn’t seem the type to be on anyone’s hit list. But when Eve and her partner, Peabody, find blood inside the building, the lieutenant knows Marta’s murder was the work of a killer who’s trained, but not professional or smart enough to remove all the evidence.

But when someone steals the files out of Marta’s office, Eve must immerse herself in her billionaire husband Roarke’s world of big business to figure out who’s cruel and callous enough to hire a hit on an innocent woman. And as the killer’s violent streak begins to escalate, Eve knows she has to draw him out, even if it means using herself as bait. . . .

I thought this book was very interesting because the murders were odd. Odd in the sense that everything was oddly connected, yet did not seem like it. I thought the storyline was great. It was very interesting to see where this story would go, for a minute there I was very confused. The first murder appears to be a mugging gone bad, but nothing is ever what it seems. I thought that was a great hook that captured my attention and kept me enthralled until the very end.  I love the dynamics between Peabody and Eve. It always seems like they should not be partners or even friends considering they are complete opposites but their partnership is great. I love the conversations between them and how much they annoy each other. I cannot get enough. I also love moments with McNab and Peabody. They re such a cute couple, I really want more from them.

As for the sex scenes let’s just say yumm… I love reading about Eve and Roarke and not in that dirty way, but in the way that I really love reading about their love for each other. Roarke! I love Roarke! He is really the best guy for Eve. He understands her more than she understands herself. I love when they connect on a physical and emotional level. Their sex scenes are constantly filled with love, sex, and hotness.

Overall, I give this novel 5 out of 5, but really I think I’m biased in this area considering this is book number 36. I only have a few more novels to read in this series and then I will go on to reading something else. I promise I will read something different soon. Happy Readings!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a Reply

