Delusion in Death (In Death # 35)

13252406

Oh no! I am book number 35! That means I only have a few more books to read until I have caught up. That was be a sad day when that happens. Maybe I should slow down my reading… nah. Okay, so here is book number 35 of the In Death series. This book was hard for me to get through and I’ll tell you why in just a moment, but first here is a brief background on the novel provided by Goodreads: It was just another after-work happy-hour bar downtown, where business professionals unwound with a few drinks, complained about the boss, maybe hooked up with someone for the night. Until something went terribly wrong. At first it was just a friction in the air. The noise intensified. The crowd seemed oppressive. some sharp words were exchanged, some pushing and shoving.
Then the madness descended. And after twelve minutes of chaos and violence, eighty people lay dead.
Eve Dallas is trying to sort out the inexplicable events. Surviving witnesses talk about seeing things—monsters and swarms of bees. They describe sudden, overwhelming feelings of fear and rage and paranoia. When forensics makes its report, the mass delusions make more sense: it appears the bar patrons were exposed to a cocktail of chemicals and illegal drugs that could drive people to temporary insanity—if not kill them outright.
But that doesn’t explain who would unleash such horror—or why. Eve’s husband, Roarke, happens to own the bar, yet he’s convinced the attack wasn’t directed at him. It’s bigger than that. And if Eve can’t figure it out fast, it could happen again, anytime, anywhere. Because it’s airborne….

This book was hard to read because of all the mass murders. It was emotionally draining to read about how over 80 people died. And these people did not die in a peaceful way, it was horrible and bloody. I slowly made my way through this novel taking more breaks between readings so that i could step away from it. I always have a hard people with disconnecting myself from the writings. I did enjoy the storyline and the characters. It was great to see some new characters as well as some of the old. I enjoyed seeing Mavis and Leonard’s daughter Bella. She is so adorable with her words. I enjoyed reading about them. It always nice to see more about a person’s life cause we all now more happens after the “happily ever after” moment.

As for the sex scenes, I loved them. I enjoy reading about Eve’s and Roarke’s relationship. The simple grow and evolve as a couple. Their relationship has certainly progress over the books and will continue to evolve. The sex scenes are still steamy and hot, hot, hot. Their sex life has not dwindled at all. (Thank God!).

Overall, I give this novel a 4.5 out of 5. I thought it was great especially the twist at the end. You will enjoy it as well. I am currently reading Calculated In Death (#36). I will take me a while to read through it so, have patience please. My life just got a lot more complicated. Happy readings!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a Reply

