Treachery in Death (In Death #32)

Treachery in death

Okay so I literally cannot figure out what book number 31 is, so here is my review for book 32. I still believe that this series is just messing with my mind. I cannot find what book 31 is cause every time I look it up in the beginning of the novels it mentions this is the next book. Oh well, I’m sure ill figure it out later. Now this was an interesting book because it did not start like the others in this series. It was very different and also very good. It does not start with death but with treachery. Here is a brief background on this novel provided by Goodreads: Detective Eve Dallas and her partner, Peabody, are following up on a senseless crime-an elderly grocery owner killed by three stoned punks for nothing more than kicks and snacks. This is Peabody’s first case as primary detective-good thing she learned from the master.

But Peabody soon stumbles upon a trickier situation. After a hard workout, she’s all alone in the locker room when the gym door clatters open; and-while hiding inside a shower stall trying not to make a sound-she overhears two fellow officers, Garnet and Oberman, arguing. It doesn’t take long to realize they’re both crooked-guilty not just of corruption but of murder. Now Peabody, Eve, and Eve’s husband, Roarke, are trying to get the hard evidence they need to bring the dirty cops down-knowing all the while that the two are willing to kill to keep their secret.

Dirty Cops! Well, I guess technically it starts with a death, just not a death that deals with the rest of the story. I thought this novel was interesting because this series had not dealt with really really bad corrupt cops. There were a few during the Riker business but it felt different. I think that was because in the other novel the crime lord was the center focus in that story. This one dealt solely with taking down the corrupt cops. I thought the interaction between Eve and the Bad cop was super entertaining. Poor Peabody, I really felt for her as a character. I’m glad she got her justice.

As for the romance, i.e. the sex scenes. Shower Sex! That has to be one of my favorite scenes in this series. A great guy (seriously, it’s making my life horrible knowing that Roarke does not exist) with great knowledge of his wife’s needs. This book is written with such description it really makes you think that you are there. Details are our friends.

Overall, I give this novel 5 out 5. I really enjoyed reading this and to be honest I really enjoy this series. I don’t think I have found a novel in this series that I absolutely hated. I know you all are tired of me writing about the same series over and over again, but I promise I am almost done. I have quite a few other novels that I need to read. So I will be reading those soon. Happy Readings!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a Reply

