Wyoming Bold (Wyoming Men #3)

wyoming+bold

So I cannot remember exactly where I got this book, but I’m pretty sure it was from my friend. So this novel is actually the third in a series and I have to admit that it might have been better if I had read the first two in that series. Here is a brief description provided by Goodreads: Former border agent Dalton Kirk thought his life was over-literally-when a gang of smugglers left him for dead. Defying all odds, he survives his ordeal and returns to his Wyoming ranch ready to dedicate his future to a more peaceful home on the range. Until lovely Merissa Baker knocks on his door.

Merissa is well aware of her reputation as the local eccentric-she knows things before they happen-and she’s had a vision that Dalton is in danger. Even though her beliefs clash with Dalton’s cowboy logic, she’s determined to save the handsome rancher she’s secretly loved forever.

Visions? It’s all ridiculous to Dalton…until things start happening that prove Merissa right. And now Dalton is not the only target-so is Merissa. Can Dalton be bold enough to trust the unknown? Is this Wyoming man ready to love?

So… this novel picks up right after Dalton has been shot and is in recovery. Starting with the third novel has left me at loss with many of the characters. So Merissa walks into Dalton’s house and immediately tells him that she had a vision where someone he doesn’t remember seeing is trying to kill because he doesn’t remember him, but really he does. SO if that sentence was confusing for you (and it should be) that was how the novel was for me. Usually the author will give you a small background on the characters as they are introduced and other information that was mentioned in the previous novels. That didn’t really happen in this novel. I mean, I understood the storyline and how the characters are connected but I felt that their was something missing in the writing. Dalton and Merissa had a weird courtship. Within a day Dalton cannot stop thinking about her. Merissa claims that she has premonitions (which I am fine with, I love paranormal novels) but everyone believes everything she is saying. I find that a little hard to believe. I do not think that everyone Dalton encounters understands and accepts Merissa ability. That made the story not connect with me. I was not able to put myself into the story. I also could not understand how Dalton could make the same mistake over and over again. Seriously, how many time is he going to let the killer stand next to him? I do have to mention that I enjoyed reading about Merissa ability, and her emotions. I felt there could be more but I enjoyed it.

As for the sex scenes and romance, I thought the male perspective was a bit lacking. It did not seem to flow quite right. The two characters didn’t really talk to each other besides the whole “your life is in danger” part and the “we have that in common” part. Those two conversations do not make up a lasting relationship in my opinion. Also at almost the beginning there was a hint of steam which quickly died out. The couple did not have sex until the very end when they finally get married, which is fine, to each his own I guess. But the sex scene was glossed over very quickly. It was barely mentioned at all.

Overall the novel was fine, just not great. I am used to reading great novels. I give this novel 3 out of 5, because there was some parts that I did enjoy. I do not have a novel that I would recommend that follows this sort of theme, but I would say that if you enjoy witches and the paranormal I recommend that you read “My kind of Town” by Shelly Laurenston in the anthology called Sun, Sand, Sex.

Leave a comment

Filed under Modern Romance

Leave a Reply

