How To Lose a Bride in One Night (Forgotten Princesses #3)

how to lose a bride in one night

So I was given this book by someone and for the life of me I cannot remember who. But just know someone gave me this book to read. This is a historical romance novel and I am quite glad I read it. But before I get into the details of this book here is a brief background provided by Goodreads:

He saved her life…
When Annalise Hadley is tossed over the side of her honeymoon barge, the newly-minted duchess knows she’s been left for dead — for her husband’s only interest is in her vast dowry, not her muddied lineage. However, she didn’t count on a savior. Especially not an honorable, sinfully intriguing earl who will tempt her to risk everything—again.
Now he will seduce her heart and soul
A man with his own demons, Owen Crawford, the reclusive Earl of McDowell, is enchanted by the mysterious, courageous woman he rescued. He will help her heal, teach her to protect herself, and then send her away—so that she’ll never see he’s far from the hero she believes him to be.
But days and nights alone prove that some secrets are meant to be discovered…some desires are too powerful to resist…and some wounds can only be healed by love.

So I was a bit apprehensive to read this novel because the last few I read were not the greatest. As soon as I started reading this novel I could not put it down. The storyline was interesting. What do you do in the time period where you were nothing more than property to your husband even after he tried to kill you. I thought that was a great twist. The very beginning starts her journey into becoming a strong woman, which I thought was great. No many female characters in the historical romance novels are strong enough to fight their roles. I enjoyed this because the story progressed really well. It did not drag and kept my attention the entire time.

I also thought the romantic scenes were great and evenly spaced out. They were placed at the correct moments in the storyline. Also, the characters did not simply jump each other bones, it started out as passion. It was a burning desire to be near each other that developed into something more. That’s how love stories should be written. Sex doesn’t happen in one second of meeting each other but develops as their relationship develops. I thought Owen was an interesting character but I really wanted more about his past. He did not really discuss it much. I know that this is the third book in the series, and I am reading it out-of-order, but I felt that the author could have added a bit more points to it. Annalise was a great character and was fully developed. She had a back story, which I wanted more of, but her secrets were fully revealed. There was nothing hiding in her.

Overall, I give this novel 4 out of 5. I thought it was great, but I wanted a bit more back ground on Owen’s life. Although I’m not sure there was more in the first two of the novels. This rating is subject to change. If you liked this novel I recommend The duke and I by Julia Quinn.

Leave a comment

Filed under Historical Romance

Leave a Reply

