My Notorious Gentleman

My notorious Gentleman

This novel was given to me by a friend, and I was intrigued to read it. Here is the back cover: Shy, warm-hearted Miss Grace Kenwood knows she has no chance of tempting her new neighbor, Lord Trevor Montgomery. Every eligible beauty is swooning over the brooding former spy. Even though he once kissed her senseless, he can have no interest in someone like her. Yet somehow, the seductive rogue unleashes her own inner devil…

Every lady loves a hero, but Trevor has no interest in any of them— except for the refreshingly candid Grace. If he had a heart left, Grace might steal it. She insists he’s better than he thinks. He’s sure she’s absolutely wrong. Until danger threatens, and Trevor rediscovers how easy it is to be a hero…for the right lady.

Remember everyone that this novel is the six in a series, so that does come into account for this review. The main female lead is Miss Grace Kenwood, a daughter of a preacher. Grace is simple, quiet and above all a 25-year-old spinster. Enter young dashing gentleman. Trevor Montgomery is now known throughout London as an ex-spy. This is not very good for a spy, this means no more secrets and nothing dangerous. The beginning of the novel was interesting. The heroine helps everyone but herself, the hero is hurt by the sudden betrayal of friend and ex-fiance. What are the odds? The storyline was good. I enjoyed the dynamics of Grace and Trevor. They really balance each other out and are what the other needs. I, however, did not enjoy the length of the novel. I felt that the storyline was a big dragged out. This story could be better if it was not so long. I kept wanting to skip ahead just to get to the next plot twist. I also did not like the fact that the climax of this novel did not reach its point until almost the very end. I felt that it could have been more towards the middle of novel.

I felt the sex scene (cause there was only one) was alright for the time period it was written in. I felt that at that point the characters were more involved in each other and really cared. I felt that this novel could have used at least one more sex scene, but it was fine with what it had. The romantic connection between both main characters was okay, but I felt that there could be more.

Overall, I give this novel a 3.5 out of 5. I felt that it could have been less dragged out but it was alright. I am curious to read the first 5 novels to see how they compare to this novel. I want to know more about the secret organization that trained the male leads. If you like historical romance, I recommend Julie Garwood’s Guardian Angel. The semester is almost over that means more books to review. I do not know what book I will be review next, but keep a look out. And do not forget to follow me on twitter @nikkiguest4. Happy Reading to all!

Leave a comment

Filed under Historical Romance

Leave a Reply

