Portrait in Death (In Death #16)

PORTrait in death

Hey Everyone! I hope all are having a fantastic weekend, I know I am. I have just completed book 16 of the In Death series by J.D. Robb, and I really cannot stop reading. I know school is starting soon for me and I really just wanted to continue reading. (Insert sad face). Here is a brief background on the novel: After a tip from a reporter, Eve Dallas finds the body of a young woman in a Delancey street dumpster. Just hours before, the news station had mysteriously received a portfolio of professional portraits of the woman. The photos seemed to be nothing out of the ordinary for any pretty young woman starting a modeling career. Except that she wasn’t a model. And that these photos were taken after she had been murdered. Now Dallas is on the trail of a killer who’s a perfectionist and an artist. He carefully observes and records his victim’s every move. And he has a mission: to own every beautiful young woman’s innocence, to capture her youth and vitality—in one fateful shot…

I absolutely loved this novel. I did not want to put it down for a second, and I swear I spent more time reading than I did sleeping. Oh well… who really needs more than 5 hours of sleep a night. Certainly not Roarke or Eve. I particularly did not enjoy the first few scenes of the novel especially the part with Nadine Furst. It seemed a bit odd in the whole scheme of things. It really was not needed. I enjoyed the novel much more when I did not have those brief interludes.  The storyline was fantastic, I enjoyed every part of it.  This is the first In Death novel that really deals with photography and I was excited to read more about it in her futuristic place. The photography plays a very important part, and I was excited to see how the crime unfolded. Another great part of the story is the thought of Summerset leaving on vacation. As you know, Eve and Summerset have a long-standing annoyance towards each other. I love their interactions with each other. It brings a smile to my face every time I think of it.

Now on for my favorite part, the steamy sex scenes. As always J.D. Robb writes great sex scenes that only add to the story. I enjoyed this novel simply because the problems between Roarke and Eve were great. I really felt their pain when they were arguing with each other. I swear I almost cried when I read their fight. The sex in this series never gets odd, and I never tire from reading them. The scenes are never the same and always show a bit more of the emotional connection. Here’s a small hint of the drama in this book: Roarke’s past comes back to haunt him. And in the relation to that can I just say how much I love Summerset! When you read the novel, you will understand what I am talking about.

Overall, I give this novel 5 out 5 stars. I simply enjoyed reading this novel and look forward to book 17. Please continue reading the series and look at other novels I have reviewed. I will have something not from this series posted soon. Happy Readings!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a Reply

