Guilty as Sin

Guilty-as-Sin-

Guilty as Sin is the newest addition in her series. If you have read her novel Hide from Evil then you remember meeting Tommy Ibarra. Here is a brief background on the novel: Fourteen years ago, Kate Beckett was a teenager more interested in summer romance than babysitting. Then the unthinkable happened: her younger brother was kidnapped and murdered on her watch. Now she is an advocate for missing children, and her newest case brings her back to the small town where she lost her brother-and where she left behind the first boy she ever loved.
Tommy Ibarra’s world fell apart after Kate broke his heart, and he’s spent his adult life making sure that he’ll never be vulnerable again. When a teenage girl vanishes, he offers his expertise as a high-tech security expert to help find her. Although he’s determined to keep his distance from Kate, it isn’t long before he’s falling under her spell all over again.
As they race against the clock, their investigation leads to a brutal killer with a shocking connection to Kate’s tragic past. And this time, the killer has Kate firmly in his sites…

When I heard about this novel, I was ecstatic. I loved Tommy Ibarra’s character in Hide from Evil. I was very excited to read about his past and learn more about his character development. So like most novels I buy, I read the back cover. This was a bad idea considering it made me hesitant to read the prologue. The reader already knows that her brother gets kidnapped and is killed, and knowing that information made me hesitant to read the beginning. That was the only part of the novel I was apprehensive about. The storyline was great! I absolutely loved it and reminds me why I love reading modern romance novels. Jami Alden’s novels were the first modern romance I had read since my discovery of this genre, and after reading this novel it only further confirms my belief that Jami Alden is a great writer. The characters are fantastic. I felt the emotional turmoil that plagued Kate when she believed it was her fault that she was not there to save her brother. This novel is full of emotional turmoil that it was hard to not feel the mirror pull on my heart-strings. I loved that fact that Kate as a character was strong, yet still had her vulnerable moments that really make her human. As far as Tommy is concerned he is a gorgeous hunk of man. Tommy tries to block the emotions (don’t they all?), but it was nice to see him leave himself vulnerable to Kate.

As for the steamy sex scenes, they were great! I love the way Jami Alden writes sex scenes. The reader really gets the feeling that she is in the place of the heroine being loved by her man. The scene did not automatically happen, which in some novels happen. The scenes were spaced out at moderate intervals that added to the storyline. This is one of the feel novels that got me emotional after the love scene, and when you read the novel you will understand why.

Overall, I give this novel a 5 out of 5 stars. The mystery was compelling along with the romance that blossomed at a reasonable amount of time. I cannot wait for the next novel Jami Alden writes. If you enjoy this novel i recommend reading J.D. Robbs series In Death (You can find my reviews of those books under Sci-Fi). Hope you enjoyed this review. Happy Readings!

Leave a comment

Filed under Modern Romance

Leave a Reply

