Seduction in Death book 13 of In Death series

seduction

I know, I know, you all are tired of having to read my reviews of the same series. I understand this completely. However, I was very excited to be receiving a package in the mail containing three new books. I was informed this morning that there is a delay with my receiving these books. So for you lucky people reading my blog that only means you get more reviews about the In death series. Here is a little background on Seduction in Death: Dante had been courting his victim in cyberspace for weeks before meeting her in person. A few sips of wine and a few hours later, she was dead. The murder weapon: a rare, usually undetectable date-rape drug with a street value of a quarter million dollars. Lieutenant Eve Dallas is playing and replaying the clues in her mind. The candlelight, the music, the rose petals strewn across the bed – a seduction meant for his benefit, not hers. He hadn’t intended to kill her. But now that he has, he is left with only two choices: to either hole up in fear and guilt or start hunting again. . .

Note: this novel contains graphic sex crime scenes. All crimes scenes as well as the crimes themselves are very descriptive. If you have a problem with reading these scenes this book and series might not be the best suited to your reading needs.

I thought this novel was great and I enjoyed reading it through. The fact that the killer uses Authors names was interesting, especially since I knew those names from my own studies. I enjoyed reading about how the murders were done with a sense of romance. The idea behind the killings were in a word: genius. I was a little disappointed to find the killers true identity early on in the novel rather than have a bit more mystery where that is concerned. However, J.D. Robb makes up for that with instead of finding out who the killer is, to finding out how to capture the killer within the confines of the law. I thought this was an interesting turn. I did not fully realize the extent in which a killer is captured and this novel helps shed some light on that fact. I thought the storyline was a great. I love the fact that this novel does not deal with Roarke’s past or even Eve’s for that matter. Even though there are brief interludes of Eve’s past that will always pop up when least expected.

The romance of the novel was incredible to read. Each time I continue reading this series I fall more in love with Roarke. He is such a great guy that make me want to punch him in the face and kiss him all at the same time. I can guarantee that Eve fells much that same way. Their connection and need for each other is what I enjoy reading about that most. I mean, the sex scenes are enjoyable to read, but the connection between them is what I really like reading these novels for. Now if only McNab and Peabody could settle their situation to my liking. Peabody’s and McNab’s romance continues to grow and evolve in this novel and I can not wait to read more about it in book 14.

Overall, I give this novel 4.5 out 5 stars. I am only docking it a bit for the fact that it was one, a sex crime, and two, the killers were known for the beginning. Other than those two items i greatly enjoyed this novel and series. I hope you are enjoying this series as well. I do have to shout out to my best friend for making me read this series, I now fully understand why she insisted on dragging my to every used book store to find the hard copies of this series. Stay tuned for the next installment, and I promise that I will get some new novels review shortly. Happy Readings!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a Reply

