Betrayal in Death book 12

Betrayal in Death

I know! You are tired of hearing me talk about the In Death series. I understand, however, that does not change that fact that I love this series. So now I will give you my review of Betrayal in Death. Here is the back cover: At the luxurious Roarke Palace Hotel, a maid walks into suite 4602 for the nightly turndown – and steps into her worst nightmare. A killer leaves her dead, strangled by a thin silver wire. He’s Sly Yost, a virtuoso of music and murder. A hit man for the elite. Lieutenant Eve Dallas knows him well. But in this twisted case, knowing the killer doesn’t help solve the crime. Because there’s someone else involved. Someone with a more personal motive. And Eve must face a terrifying possibility – that the real target may, in fact, be her husband Roarke…

Okay, for those of you who do not like sex crimes, this novel will be hard for you to read. It is very graphic and is about a killer who rapes and murders his victims. I am warning you in advance so that you will not be taken by surprise. Although it was a sex crime, I enjoyed this novel. I thought the character development was great. That’s what’s great about a series that only follows one main character. You see a lot more character growth. I enjoyed seeing Roarke and Eve grow as a couple and grow as individuals. I also enjoyed seeing other agencies try to work together to find one hired killer. The one thing I did not like was the fact that most of the killers target Roarke, which sort of makes sense seeing as how he owns most of the world, but still, I feel like Roarke should be given a break. He takes it as a personal insult if an employee of his is killed. The mystery part of it was interesting, except now that I know J.D. Robb’s style of writing i am figuring out the mystery before the ending. I hope that the next one will keep my guessing, I so do enjoy guessing.

For the sex scenes, or as my friend like to call them “the Smutty scenes,” I found that they did not hinder the story but enhanced the emotional connection between the couples. Be prepared to have you glasses fogged up and feel the love pouring out of the novel. J.D. Robb’s writes well-developed romance scenes that make my swoon with love for the main characters. I am simply fascinated with the Peabody and McNab drama. I want to know more about their relationship. Roarke will still be my favorite male lead in a novel, well in J.D. Robb’s novel anyways. I have to say Eve had it right when she says that she wants to hit him and kiss him all in the same moment. That is what love is, is it not?

Overall, I give this novel 4 out of 5 stars, simply because I have problems with reading about rape scenes. If you enjoyed this novel then I encourage you to keep reading the rest of the series. (I believe there is about 30). If you did not like this novel, or are not reading this series, stay tuned I will be reviewing some new novels shortly. Happy readings!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a Reply

