Witness in Death Book 10 (In Death series)

Witness in Death

This was an interesting storyline and one that never changes no matter the time period. Lieutenant Eve Dallas must fight her past in order to solve a murder that over thousands of people have witnessed. Here is the synopsis of this book: When a celebrity is killed right before her eyes, New York detective Eve Dallas takes a new place in crime – as both officer and witness to murder…
Opening night at New York’s New Globe Theater turns from stage scene to crime scene when the leading man is stabbed to death center stage. Now Eve Dallas has a high-profile, celebrity homicide on her hands. Not only is she lead detective, she’s also a witness – and when the press discovers that her husband owns the theater, there’s more media spotlight than either can handle. The only way out is to move fast. Question everyone and everything…and in the meantime, try to tell the difference between the truth – and really good acting…

This storyline was interesting to read and really never changes. I would have to say that this storyline was timeless with some added plot twists that I did not see coming. Since this is a mystery novel I will in no way write down anything that will be termed as a spoiler. I do have to say that when I reached the climax of this story I was surprised that I had gotten the killer wrong. I did not see that really killer until the final scene. This murder was interesting in the fact that you cannot help but hate the victim and wish for his demise as pieces of his life come into view. This book was certainly draining on the heart-strings. It personally took a lot out of me to read the details. So I would recommend that if you have problems with traumatic elements, you might want to take breaks with this novel. I admit that I took breaks when the characters emotions started to affect my own. That is one of the curses and joys of reading, isn’t it? The need to understand and place yourself in the characters shoes. By putting myself in Eve’s shoes, I was able to see more about her life that i really wanted to.

The relationship between Eve and Roarke will forever be my personal favorite. Forget Jane Eyre and Mr. Rochester, it’s all about Eve and Roarke. They are (simply put) made for each other. It was interesting to see Eve make herself a bit more vulnerable in this novel. She always comes across as a strong, independent woman, who does not need a man by her side, but that is not the case. She is strong, but even the strong need someone to lean on. Roarke is perfect for her. He understands her emotions better than she does herself (And not to mention knows her body better). Roarke is perfectly in tune with whatever Eve may have in mind. There is two particular scenes that I absolutely loved and will read again shortly after finishing this review. The first scene happens very early in the novel when Eve accidentally inhales Rabbit (a drug that I will not tell you what it does). The second scene is later on in the book that shows Eve as a more compassionate woman who tries to be what she thinks is expected of her. This was the first novel that I have actually scene Roarke not be so composed. In fact he actually trips over his own feet after he effectively tries to swallow them. Okay, I will not tell you any more than that. Let’s just say that the sex scenes were steamy and a perfect addition to the storyline and the continual storyline of Roarke and Eve.

Overall, I give this novel 4 out of 5 stars. I enjoyed it, especially when i got the killer wrong. So if you enjoyed this novel, please keep reading (I know I will) and I promise you will enjoy the rest. If you did not like this novel I have to ask why have you read all the way up to book 10 if you did not like it? Okay, well perhaps there are other books you might like more, such as Jami Alden’s crime series or Lori Foster’s Men Who Walk the Edge of Honor series. Both have the same elements as J.D. Robb’s, but without the futuristic setting or visually graphic scenes. Enjoy and Happy Readings!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a Reply

