Conspiracy in Death book 8

Conspiracy in Death

I know everyone must simply be tired of me writing reviews on the same series, but I have to admit that this series is Amazing! (Yes, with a capital A). So without further ado a little background about this novel: Streetwise cop Eve Dallas and her trusty sidekick Peabody face a methodical killer in this latest addition to the In Death series by J.D. Robb, better known as the bestselling author Nora Roberts. In the late 21st century, on the streets of New York City, a street sleeper is found murdered, his diseased heart removed with surgical precision. His death would typically drop to the bottom of a list of senseless and inexplicable killings, but Lieutenant Dallas, who “would stand for the dead and the living,” is not about to let that happen. When her research uncovers similar crimes in several cities that were dropped under mysterious circumstances, Dallas knows she’s facing a killer cruel enough to prey on the weakest in society and powerful enough to conspire an extensive coverup. To complicate matters further, Dallas faces an equally troubling threat to her career when she’s linked to the death of a fellow cop. Now she must fight to restore her good name as well as track down the killer.

I actually tend to change the date of the series simply because we are so close to the date and a lot of the technology has advanced beyond that. This novel was a bit interesting, but dealt more with conspiracies (hence the title). It seems that a lot of the murders are not related when in fact they are. The novel was definitely interesting, but I did not enjoy this one as much as I enjoyed the others. I’m not too big a fan of doctors and their inner workings. In fact I usually go out of my way to make sure my cousin (who is a surgical nurse) does not talk to me about her job. The novel was written very well and I enjoyed seeing the other characters come together and help with the investigation.

Now for my favorite parts, the sex scenes. The connection between Roarke and Eve simply keep growing. They still have many problems to work out but overall they are a couple I enjoy reading about. They simply find anyway to torture the other. (And really, it’s that what it’s about?). There is a certain part in this novel that I simply love, and unfortunately I cannot write about it since it will give away spoilers. (I hate spoilers) But I will say that in that particular scene that relationship between Roarke and Eve was a favorite and really showed how much they belong together.

Overall, I give this novel 4 out of 5 stars. Like all the other if you enjoyed this keep reading the next one is even crazier! If you have gotten this far and find that you do not enjoy these novels, I would recommend reading Jami Alden’s Beg for Mercy or Lori Foster’s When You Dare.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a Reply

