Vengeance in Death book 6

226-1

Vengeance in Death is book 6 of J.D Robb’s In Death series. This is the continuation storyline taking up only a few weeks after book 5. Here is a brief background on the novel: He is an expert with the latest technology … a madman with the mind of a genius and the heart of a killer. He quietly stalks his prey. Then he haunts the police with cryptic riddles about the crimes he is about to commit–always solved moments too late to save his victims’ lives.
Police lieutenant Eve Dallas found the first victim butchered in his own home. The second lost his life in a vacant luxury apartment. The two men had little in common. Both suffered unspeakable torture before their deaths. And both had ties to an ugly secret of ten years past–a secret shared by none other than Eve’s new husband, Roarke.

This novel I found truly fascinating because it allows you to see more of Roarke’s past. In the first five novels there is not much known about Roarke’s past, yet in this novel J.D. Robb really brings Roarke’s past back to haunt him. The character development between Eve and Roarke is still one of my favorite things to read. Roarke is so mysterious, and granted he still is, but in this novel I enjoyed seeing more of him. While reading the first novels I always thought in the back of my mind, “What was Roarke’s childhood like?” and now this novel was able to answer some of that. I also enjoyed the relationship between Eve and Summerset. To read about their interaction still makes my giggle. The two of them together, I swear. They are two of my favorite characters because of how they act towards each other. The storyline was great and very enthralling. I could not put this novel down and do have to admit that sometimes I should have been sleeping rather than reading.  J.D Robb’s series is my addiction  and I proudly acknowledge this.

Now on to the good stuff. I had a feeling that since Eve and Roarke are married by this point that the sex scenes would dwindle down. I am happy to say that is not the case. So if you think Eve and Roarke’s sex life turns into old married couple sex, think again. The sex scenes remain fresh and emotional. Cause really what is sex without emotions?

Overall, I rate this novel 5 out of 5 stars. I thought the plot line progressed well and the character development was perfectly written. If you like this novel you might also enjoy Jami Alden’s novel Beg for Mercy the first in the trilogy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a Reply

