Holiday in Death book 7

images-1

Holiday in Death takes up only a few weeks after the ending of Vengeance in Death. Here is the background on this novel: No one likes to be alone during the holidays. For New York’s most posh dating service, Personally Yours, it is the season to bring lonely hearts together. But Lieutenant Eve Dallas, on the trail of a ritualistic serial killer, has made a disturbing discovery: all of the victims have been traced to Personally Yours. As the murders continue, Eve enters into an elite world of people searching for their one true love–and a killer searching for his next victim. A world where the power of love leads men and women into the ultimate act of betrayal…

I have to admit that this novel was hard for me to read. Not that it wasn’t written well, the content was just too graphic for me. This novel has explicit rape scenes that cannot be handled by everyone. (I know I am one of those that can’t). When writing about sex crimes it is important to right about the emotional turmoil that happens and I felt that J. D. Robb wrote that part really well. The surprise twist on the owners of Personally Yours was something that I did not see coming. That plot twist really threw me for a loop. I unfortunately did not enjoy this one as much as I enjoyed the other novels. And this was mainly because it was a sex crime Eve was investigating. I really wish there was a bit more on the killer background. I want to know more about his mind and the way he thinks.

Again the sex scenes were amazing between Roarke and Eve. They really balance each other out and make perfect partners in marriage. He tends to know everything she needs before she does, and really understands the demands that a police office has.

Overall, I thought this novel was good. I give it 4 out of 5 stars. If you liked this novel please continue reading the rest of the series (believe me there is a lot). If you like this novel but want something a bit more modern, Jami Alden writes great mystery/ suspense novels that deal along the same lines.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a Reply

