Rapture in Death book 4 of In Death Series

Rapture in Death

This follows my three previous reviews. This series has to be one of my favorites so far. As like the other three this novel follows Detective Eve Dallas on her search for the truth. Here is what this novel is about: When the autopsies of three suspicious suicides reveal small burns on the brains of the victims, Eve’s investigation turns to the provocative world of virtual reality games–where the same techniques used to create joy and desire could also prompt the mind to become the weapon of its own destruction.

I found this novel very intriguing. The thought that virtual reality games are harmful is very similar to societies view that video games are harmful. I thought this novel was very well written. I enjoyed it so much and can honestly say that I never saw that coming. I was constantly guessing on who the murderer was throughout the entire novel. I also enjoyed the aspect of the psychological that was present in these murders. I thought the information on the brain was interesting to read and was very informative. I actually wanted to know more. (I secretly love the mind and all its wonderful facets.

As for the continuing relationship between Roarke and Eve, I love their character growth. In each novel J.D. Robb gives the reader just a bit more information on how their brains work. I am completely fascinated with the emotional connection between the character and how they truly understand each other. And let’s not forget about the sex scenes. The sex was perfect and emotional, which is just how I like it. It was very descriptive and only adds to the storyline rather than take away from it. I love the sex scenes between Roarke and Eve, they never fail to make me laugh and sigh all at the same time.

Overall, I enjoyed this novel and will be giving it 5 out of 5 stars. If you enjoyed this novel as well stay tuned for my review of Ceremony in Death book 5 in the series. If you find that mystery/ crime drama is not your thing, there are plenty of other novels that I recommend.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a Reply

