Ceremony in Death, book 5 of In Death series

243-2

Ceremony in Death is the 5th novel in the In Death series by J.D. Robb staring Detective Eve Dallas. In this novel Eve is investigating a death in her own department. Here is a brief description of the novel: Conducting a top-secret investigation into the death of a fellow police officer has Lieutenant Eve Dallas treading on dangerous ground. She must put professional ethics personal loyalties. But when a dead body is placed outside her home, Eve takes the warning personally. With her husband, Roarke, watching her every move, Eve is drawn into the most dangerous case of her career. Every step she takes makes her question her own beliefs of right and wrong – and brings her closer to a confrontation with humanity’s most seductive form of evil…

This novel was interesting, but not my favorite out of the series. Basically in this novel Eve is investigating the Wiccan religion. I found that to be a bit weird. I am usually all for witches and the like since I love supernatural stories, but in this novel it seemed a bit out-of-place. I can honestly say that I one time was interested in the wiccan way and wanted to know more. From what I remember it was not like J.D. Robb described. It certainly reminded me of Practical Magic starring Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman. The only problem I have is the thin line between black magic and white magic.  Eve later finds that she needs to be investigating Satanist (devil worshipers). Warning: in this novel it relates detailed rape and death scenes. If you do not have the stomach for such scenes (I know i had to step away from it for a while) then you will probably not enjoy this novel.  The novel in it itself was interesting, it just was not to my liking.

The sex between Roarke and Eve was incredible. I also enjoyed seeing Eve a bit more vulnerable. Most of the time throughout the series Eve comes across as a strong, independent woman who does not show her emotions. I was relieved to read that Eve is just like everyone else and when she loves someone she loves them deeply. The romance scenes were really well written with exposed emotions on both parties.  However, there are graphic scenes of rape and torture in this novel that is not for everyone. So be cautious when you read it.

Overall, I rate this novel 3-4 out 5 stars. Mostly because this novel did not seem to follow the others and just was about sociopath and psychopaths rather than magic. If you enjoyed this novel, please continue reading the rest of this series (I know I will). If you find this is not you taste look at other novels that I recommend.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a Reply

