Review of Immortal in Death book 3

immortal in death

Immortal in Death is the third in the In Death series written by J.D. Robb. This follows Detective Eve Dallas on her need to find justice for crimes. Set in 2058(a date I usually change in my mind to 2158) Detective Eve Dallas will do all she can to save the innocent victim. Here is the back cover of this novel: She was one of the most sought-after women in the world. A top model who would stop at nothing to get what she wanted-even another woman’s man. And now she’s dead, the victim of a brutal murder.
Police lieutenant Eve Dallas puts her life on the line to take the case when suspicion falls on her best friend, the other woman in the fatal love triangle. Beneath the facade of glamor, Eve finds that the world of high fashion thrives on an all-consuming obsession with youth and fame-one that leads her from the lights of the runway to the dark underworld of New York City, where drugs can fulfill any desire, for a price.

I thought this novel was a great addition to the series. I could not put it down, especially when it was 2 o’clock in the morning and I needed to sleep. I enjoyed learning more about Detective Eve Dallas and the inner workings of her mind. She is a strong women but also has a sensitive side. In this novel her best friend is accused of murder and Eve needs to find the real killer before her friend is thrown into jail. I do have to admit that the true killer was a surprise to me. Like others, I followed the line of deductive reasoning and I thought something was off with this character, but I ignored my instincts. I do love the fact that I was right.

Again this novel has explicit sex scenes as well as abusive flash backs. If you are unable to handle graphic, traumatic scenes I would say you can either gloss over them or not read this series. If you have read the first in two novels of the series then you know what I am talking about. Nora Roberts just has a way of writing graphic scenes that make you feel like you are apart of it. I can officially say that after reading the steamy scenes that I am officially in love with the male lead Roarke. *sigh* He is just great in this series, a perfect counterbalance to Eve’s dominating personality.

I would give this novel 5 out of 5 stars if you love Law and Order or any other crime shows. These novels are the perfect balance of crime and science fiction.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a Reply

