Review for Naked in Death book 1

JD-Robb-Naked-in-Death-unabridged-compact-discs-Brilliance-Audio-books

Naked in death is the first novel of the series written by J.D. Robb or as known in the romance genre Nora Roberts. In this novel she combines Law and Order: SVU and futuristic settings to bring the reader a great new twist on crime/ drama. This series is unlike any other series J.D. Robb has ever written. This series follows only one main character: Detective Eve Dallas. Here is the back cover of the first novel: It is the year 2058, and technology now completely rules the world. But New York City Detective Eve Dallas knows that the irresistible impulses of the human heart are still ruled by just one thing-passion. When a senator’s daughter is killed, the secret life of prostitution she’d been leading is revealed. The high-profile case takes Lieutenant Eve Dallas into the rarefied circles of Washing-ton politics and society. Further complicating matters is Eve’s growing attraction to Roarke, who is one of the wealthiest and most influential men on the planet, devilishly handsome… and the leading suspect in the investigation.

Now for my opinion of this novel. I do have to admit i was a bit hesitate to read this novel at first. I have read and liked Nora Roberts novels, but this was going to be something different entirely. For one thing it was set in the future (well future when she wrote it, not so far in the future now), the other thing was that it was a crime novel. I am not usually a big fan of crime novels, but i have to say this was one of my favorites. I enjoyed getting into the mind of the female lead. Eve is a strong character with insecurities and a blank past. Roarke is perfect balance to her strong dominating personality. Roarke has to be considered one of my top fiction male leads of all time. He is just so complex and mysterious that it begs the reader to learn more about him and especially his feeling towards Eve.

I do have to mention that this novels plot line was very difficult for me to read. If you do not like Law and Order: SVU, then I can guarantee that you will not enjoy this novel. It is certainly not for those of weak stomachs or faint in heart. There were many times I had to walk away from the novel for a while and watch something happy on T.V. or read a different book to get the poison of the violent parts out of my head.

The sex scenes were great in this novel. They carry both the emotional component and physical attraction. I enjoyed reading these, they really remind me of Nora Roberts romance novels in that variety. The relationship between Roarke and Eve was my personal favorite and will continue to be so in the next reviews as I finish the series. I give this novel 4 out of 5 stars. If you have read this novel I would recommend reading the second book in the series Glory in Death.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a Reply

