Review of Run the Risk

Run The Risk

Run the Risk is the first book of the newest series Love Undercover by Lori Foster. I have to admit I’m a huge fan (if you have not guessed already by my reviews). This novel is about Detective Logan Riske and Pepper Yates.

Here is the back cover: When Detective Logan Riske goes undercover to find Pepper Yates, a potential link to his best friend’s unsolved murder, he vows to gain her cooperation by any means necessary. But the elusive beauty is more suspicious—and in far more danger—than he expected. And the last thing Logan needs is to start caring for her…. Pepper has spent years dodging the corrupt club owner who will stop at nothing to keep her silenced. She can trust no one, not even the handsome new “construction worker” who’s moved in next door. The heat between them is undeniable. But will surrendering to passion bring her the safety she so desires—or will her feelings for Logan draw them both into a killer’s crosshairs?

When I first started reading this book I was a bit hesitant. Mainly because I knew I would have to wait a long time for the second novel to be published. I usually wait to start a new series when at least a few novels have been published, but I was willing to take the chance with this book. Logan Riske is trying to find Pepper Yates in order to ask for her help in taking down the criminal that killed his best friend. Logan does whatever he needs to do to find justice. I have to say I really enjoyed this novel and could not put it down. The way Lori Foster wrote this keeps the reader engaged by providing only bits of information that makes you want to read more. I loved the storyline. It did, however, remind me of her other series Men Who Walk the Edge of Honor. I loved her other series so it wasn’t too bad to notice certain similarities. I thought that the male lead was a great character and was well-developed. The female lead I have to say was an enigma. I thought one thing and found out I was wrong with my perception. That is the kind of books I love. I really don’t want to give away details so I will just mention that she was not what I was expecting.

Now for a bit of the erotica scenes. I thought the sex scenes were well written and really took me by surprise. The scenes added to the mystery of the novel and did not seem over the top. I know that in some novels the sex scenes take away from the storyline, however, in this novel it only added to the emotional connection between the main characters. The sex scenes towards the ending of the novel contained the added emotional connection that showed the progression of the characters.

Overall, I give this novel 5 out of 5 stars. It left me wanting to skip sleep and continue reading through the night. I always wanted to know more. I cannot wait for the next novel in the series to come out. If you enjoyed this novel with the mystery and strong men then you will really love Lori Foster’s other series Men Who Walk the Edge of Honor starting with When You Dare (My personal favorite!). Happy readings!

Leave a comment

Filed under Modern Romance

Leave a Reply

