Review of The Moon and More

The Moon and More

I have just finished reading The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen. I have to admit that I normally do not read YA lit, but my friend gave me this after I went to Sarah Dessen’s book signing. I figured it could not hurt to read her novel. I surprised myself by actually finishing this novel. Normally I try to stay away from YA lit, because they usually do not have a full conclusion, but rather leave the ending open.

Here is the back cover: Luke is the perfect boyfriend: handsome, kind, fun. He and Emaline have been together all through high school in Colby, the beach town where they both grew up. But now, in the summer before college, Emaline wonders if perfect is good enough.
Enter Theo, a super-ambitious outsider, a New Yorker assisting on a documentary film about a reclusive local artist. Theo’s sophisticated, exciting, and, best of all, he thinks Emaline is much too smart for Colby.
Emaline’s mostly-absentee father, too, thinks Emaline should have a bigger life, and he’s convinced that an Ivy League education is the only route to realizing her potential. Emaline is attracted to the bright future that Theo and her father promise. But she also clings to the deep roots of her loving mother, stepfather, and sisters. Can she ignore the pull of the happily familiar world of Colby?
Emaline wants the moon and more, but how can she balance where she comes from with where she’s going?
Sarah Dessen’s devoted fans will welcome this story of romance, yearning, and, finally, empowerment. It could only happen in the summer.

I felt this was a great coming of age novel. It shows the mistakes that can be made especially by an 18 year-old waiting to go off to college. It was interesting to see how Emaline grew from the first page to the last. I would definitely consider this novel a good summer read. There is no mystery or anything traumatic, it was more of a great read that was light and fluffy. However, because this novel was a YA lit, I saw certain plot devises. I saw events happening before they could occur. I did feel however that the relationship between father and daughter could have been written better. I wanted more from that interaction, but I can also see where the author is coming from leaving it like that. I felt that the relationship was just awkward and the author focused more on the relationship the girl had with everyone else including the boys.

Overall, I give this novel 4 out of 5 stars. If you are looking for something fun and cute to read, I would recommend this novel. If you liked this novel and are a big fan of YA lit I would recommend that you go to my friends blog.   http://www.literaryexploration.com/

I’m sure she could give you better recommendation for the YA lit.

Leave a comment

Filed under Young Adult Lit

Leave a Reply

