Celebrity in Death (In Death #34)

13007638

I thought this novel was interesting and really reminded me that J.D. Robb is Nora Roberts. A few years ago I read a Nora Roberts novel that dealt similar to this novel. So far in this series I have been able to keep J.D. Robb and Nora Roberts separate in my mind, but after this novel I can no longer say that. Here is a brief description of the novel provided by Goodreads: Lieutenant Eve Dallas is no party girl, but she’s managing to have a reasonably good time at the celebrity-packed bash celebrating “The Icove Agenda,” a film based on one of her famous cases. It’s a little spooky seeing the actress playing her, who looks almost like her long-lost twin. Not as unsettling, though, as seeing the actress who plays Peabody drowned in the lap pool on the roof of the director’s luxury building. Now she’s at the center of a crime scene-and Eve is more than ready to get out of her high heels and strap on her holster and step into the role she was born to play: cop.

A celebrity dies while Eve is at a party promoting the novel about her high-profile case. It reminded me of the other novel simple because it dealt with celebrities and the secrets that they keep. It’s an interesting view on the celebrity world. I enjoyed seeing where this novel would go and I have to say I was surprised on the killer. It was not one I saw coming or all the information that came to light in the killers past. I knew one of the people at the party killed the actress but having the secrets from the killers past come to light was surprising to me. I really did not see that coming. I thought it was an interesting turn of events.

As for the sex scenes, I feel I have been getting a bit disappointed with them because they do not happen quite as often as they used to. I still love reading about their emotional connection to each other: Roarke and Eve. I feel that I would be happy if there was more romantic scenes of this nature. I do love the brief glance we get to see into Peabody’s and McNab’s relationship. I thought it was cute to see McNab all vulnerable and insecure. It was cute to see how Peabody and McNab would work that out.

Overall, I give this book 4.5 out 5. I enjoyed it and will continue to enjoy this series. However, this novel was not one of my favorite out of the series. I think it has come to the point where I need to step away from this series and read something else for a change. Which is exactly what I have done since my next review is something completely different. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-fi romance

Leave a Reply

